National Board Spotlight: Vicki Nelson

Vicki “Kalani” Nelson
National President

20160613_001716

We are thrilled to welcome back our National President, Vicki Nelson, to her 7th term on the board (4th term as our National President)! As a founding sister of the Lambda Chapter, she has continued to be a pillar of dedication and involvement as an alumna since 2005. Vicki has been an integral part of the success and growth of Delta Xi Phi over the last decade, confidently leading us through struggles and lifting us to triumphs. While taking on the responsibility of overseeing our national sorority, Vicki has earned a PhD in Genetics and became a Doctor of Medicine (MD). She recently relocated from Ohio to Greenville, South Carolina to complete her final training for sports medicine.

Over the next several weeks, members of the National Board will share their thoughts, memories, and advice with our sorority. It is our hope that our members will come to know our board members on a personal level, more than just our names and e-mail messages. Most appropriately, Vicki has gone first.


1.) What are you most excited about for this term?
I’m really excited to see where things go with such a young, fresh group.  I feel like this year more than most we have the opportunity to really change how things are done because we have so many people coming to the table without a sense of how things have been done before.

2.) What has been your favorite time on the board?
I have a lot of trouble picking out favorite times so far.  Being at chapter foundings is always a great moment in time and I’ve been lucky to be a part of the process with 11 new chapters including my own.  When we are able, fitting in social time at board meetings or just getting to know each other one-on-one has been very rewarding.  Some of the women I look up to most are those I have spent time on the board with.  

3.) What are some of your big goals for this term?
I really want us to define that intangible thing that makes Delta Xi Phi special and unique.  It’s such a hard thing to explain and put words to but would be invaluable in defining our brand as we focus on growth and move into the future.  The other half of my focus is on trying to add value to membership in the sorority – finding ways to enrich the experience for actives and alumnae alike.  Pretty much all of the items on my project list relate to these two things.  

4.) What was your favorite time or memory from being an active?
This is also very hard to choose.  I got to be part of so many significant firsts.  I think crossing our Beta line is one that will always stand out; to finally be looking at our chapter grow and see that what we started was something that other women would benefit from and get a family from made the long months of work and sacrifice worthwhile.

5.) What do you most enjoy about your city? And your job?
My city is brand new to me.  Greenville is a great city with southern charm, close to the mountains, the country and the beach.  My job is new also but in general, being a physician is a stressful and rewarding experience.  People open up to their physicians in ways they wouldn’t to anyone else sharing their joys and struggles and welcoming you to their lives in ways that they wouldn’t honor others with.  Diving into sports medicine I enjoy being able focus on keeping people busy and active and doing the things they love to do.  

5.) What advice would you give to active sisters?
Be who you are.  Embrace your sisters as they come.  Accept obstacles in the road as the opportunities they are.  Learn as much as you can from everyone that crosses your path.  Remember that you represent hundreds of women around the country in everything you do – even if your letters are off.  Live today.  It’s so easy to focus on yesterday and tomorrow that getting everything out of the experiences you’re having right now fades into the background.  You’ll wish you could remember the details of those moments 10 years from now.

6.) What do you enjoy outside of work and the sorority?
I’m a huge knitter.  I enjoy gardening and have gotten into container gardening since I moved into an apartment.  When I have time the artsy, craftsy stuff tends to be what I turn to and I read a ton.

7.) In closing, share some cool things about you!
I was born in Hawaii on New Year’s Eve.  My favorite color is orange.  I love sunshine, sunsets and palm trees (thus the appeal of South Carolina).  I could eat ice cream by the gallon – and sometimes that happens.  I’ve been to 47 of the 50 US states.

Comments are closed